Help needed with a new publication

edited August 2012 in The CenterTao Lounge
I wonder if I might ask a favour. I've been keeping a journal since 2008 and, after two major operations for cancer, decided to write up extracts from it to share with others. The format I eventually hit on was after the style of Enlgish translations of the Tao Te Ching but I don't know whether what I've produced appears over pretentious or contrived. After a couple of pages of introduction, there currently 170 poetic-prose stanzas. Has anyone got time to look at it and give me an opinion please?

Comments

• Why not put some of your work on this thread. I, and others I expect, at least have time to check out a pithy sample. Just a thought...
  • Thanks for the invitation, Carl. I'm copying the introduction and first 20 stanzas below. Open to all feedback.

Sweet and Bitter Waters

Notes of explanation

What I've tried to encapsulate in the inadequate medium of words are not statements of fact, though sometimes that may appear to be the case. My 'openings' are expressions of an intuition that is felt rather than known. The style of the text is designed to speak to the heart rather than the head. That's why I've written them in poetic-prose and make a use of metaphor, allegory and paradox. Only when the heart hears will readers need to use rational thought to express to others what they experience within themselves – if they really feel this to be appropriate, necessary or even possible. If you don't agree with something or find a passage to be difficult or obtuse, don't struggle with it. Let it rest in stillness on your mind. If it still doesn't make sense, move on. In a few years time I myself may not agree with some of the thoughts expressed here or I may want to express them differently. As scientist, Rosalind Burnell, says in Quaker Faith and Practise, this is simply my working hypothesis.