Wu Wei and the Three Jewels

I'm still a newbie to all this, and I had a question regarding Wu Wei and the "Three Jewels."

From the reading I've done, wu wei means something along the lines of not resisting the impulses of one's body and mind -- if I'm tired, sleep; if I'm upset, let myself be upset without denying it or distracting myself (unless that's what I feel "impulsed" to do!). That's not a great description... I think it's one of those things that you can never really describe, but I hope it's good enough for now.

Anyway... an article I read mentioned something about the "Three Jewels" -- compassion, moderation and humility. I've never heard these mentioned in any of the books I've read so far. (Well, perhaps the Tao Te Ching has them or implies them, I don't recall exactly.)

My problem is this: I agree that the "Three Jewels" are good things that would be of great benefit to ourselves and the world, but what if I don't feel inclined to express them? My understanding is that emotions such as these should come about spontaneously without being "forced," but from what I've read it sounds like we Taoists should be "pushing" ourselves to feel these things. Doesn't that go against the spirit of wu wei, or do I just have a gross misunderstanding of something here?

Comments

• Good thoughtful questions! Chapter 67 is what you refer to. I'll paste it below. I shall just write in a stream of consciousness, not to reread or edit it. So, forgive me ahead of time for errors of omission and commission. Beside, what the heck. This are Taoist thoughts anyway.