The Tao of Fear Cultivation

Very interesting. Being a graphic designer, my work is purely about perfection. It becomes extremely tedious at times and can be really dreadful when things don't turn out how I like. I've often noticed this aspect of myself filter into my daily life, an acute judgement of the world around me. Although the more I learn about myself, I have gradually learned to confine this aspect of myself to my work, and just experience the rest of my life for what it is.

Comments

• edited December 1969
    First, the fear to which I am referring is not the fearsome shrieking overheard at a horror show or even at real disasters. The fear to which I refer ranges from the most subtle insecure and unsettled feelings all the way to the fear that causes one to flee in terror from the charging lion. Obviously, the mundane unnoticed manifestations of fear are the rule.

‘Fear’ is a primary emotion that motivates all living things. Humans respond to it somewhat differently than other animals in so far as our mind is concerned – fear drives our thoughts. Fear is what makes wild animals wild and natural. They are alive and alert to each moment because to do otherwise is risky. Our wish to feel safer and more comfortable has driven us to close the door on this ‘wilderness’ and live safely behind the walls of civilization's paradigm. Does it work? What have been the trade offs?