On learning Chinese...

edited September 2005 in The CenterTao Lounge
"By the way, you can make your own Zen (i.e., Buddhism + Taoism = Zen). My 'problem' with Zen is that, as a synthesis of Buddhism and Taoism, it leaves out some parts of each for me personally. So I just take from each what I wish, add my own two cents, and make a 'personalized Zen'. "

Carl I jus thave to say thank you! This is exactly what I have been doing for the last 40 years, and I love this journey! ~/~

I also study and reflect on the "The Upanishads", "The Bhagavad Gita" by: Eknath Easwaran and "The Gossip of Thomas", but it is the Tao Te Ching that allows me to look into the mirror and see myself at that moment! :lol:

Comments

• edited December 1969
    Carl was right: Oregon high schools are now part of a pilot program where students are being taught Mandarin Chinese. those who stick with the study of it will be given full ride scholarships to university and opportunities at foreign exchange programs...

and the best part: it's funded by...the Department of Defense
  • edited December 1969
    [cite] Buddy1:[/cite]Carl was right:

Finally someone agrees with what have I always been saying! :lol:

Seriously, a culture that spawned Taoism has some awesome potential I assume - even though only a tiny minority are actually 'consciously' Daoist. They got bogged down by a few thousand years of 'status quo', but now...watch out :!:
  • edited December 1969
    Link to related article: http://www.oregonlive.com/news/oregonian/index.ssf?/base/front_page/1127214001239650.xml&coll=7
    The Defense Department is funding grants to promote the teaching of four languages considered critical to national security: Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Korean and Arabic.