Happiness is when you stop doing everything else?

Hi Carl, this is my first time on this site, and I've agreed with many things you've posted, but some post 20th century music is easy, and although I don't know you, and have only read a few of your posts here, I think you might like some classical stuff. Yes, I'm biased, I'm a music student and a classical pianist, and like you, (I think), I don't listen to a lot of what people would classify as 'popular' music (pop, rock, etc.), but if you listen to some contemporary classical music, I think you'll find that they regard silence as highly as you do. It's the moments in between the notes that make music beautiful.

(that having been said, a lot of it isn't as sociable as bluegrass...)

Comments

• edited December 1969
    I have read that compassion, wisdom, kindness, peace, joy is what's there when you stop doing everything else. Your true self is all these things, but your conditioned mind (ego) gets in the way of experiencing it.

That sounded good to me and I held that belief for a number of years, but now, after visiting this web site, I am beginning to think it is wishful thinking.

Any thoughts?
  • edited December 1969
    I think all these should occur naturally in everything you do...
  • edited December 1969
    I think that, too. I *should* be kind, compassionate, wise, peaceful, but guess what! I'm not! Especially when I feel threatened I've noticed that I am the opposite of all that. And then, I beat myself up for not being that way (after all, that's my true self) and then I get angry at myself for judging myself, and round and round I go, caught up in the cycle of suffering.