Desire-Nature Itself

happy birthday, judy li! and welcome.

Comments

• edited December 1969
    Maybe I am missing something here. As a retired Electrical Engineer I think techology is a two edged sword, it can give meaning to life (Nature) and it can take it away. I think it is safe to say most people do not want to go back to the stone age. Balance is the key thing, unfortunately this balance is not going on. I think the inherent problem is that we do not utilize a lot of Wisdom in applying technology. In theory it should go something like this, a) collect Raw Data, b) use this Raw Data to establish Information, c) use this Information to establish Understanding, d) use Understanding to establish Knowledge, and e) use Knowledge to establish Wisdom. With today's techology we start with a lot of raw data and wind up with very little Wisdom. It is scary, just look what the Atomic Bomb brought to us today.

Back many moons ago, the Native Americans followed these above steps with nature in mind and ended up with a lot of Wisdom applied for the many generation ahead. Needless to say guns, steel and germs destroyed that beautiful process. Some Technology has given meaning to my life, for example if you try to understand the basics of Quantum Mechanics you will see that Science is finally starting to caught up with Buddha (ha ha). If you try to understand the field of electromagnetics it is quite clear that everything is connected, if you try to understand the Big Bang Theory you will imediately relate to Tao Te Ching. In fact there are scientists, engineers etc. that relate to Eastern Philosophy to help guide them.

To get Wisdom from technology, I think we need to start educating our children to go from Raw Data to Wisdom. These children will be the future decision makers. They are the ones who can really make the difference and bring back the meaning of life.

What do you think? :wink:
  • edited December 1969